How do we understand human needs?

I’ve been thinking a lot about what women need during perinatal transitions, and today I’ve come across a model of fundamental human needs by Max-Neef (1986) that I had never heard of before. Looking at it – as an occupational therapist – I’m excited. I can see here a model which looks at individuals through a similar lens to occupational therapy. It’s complex, and I’m just starting to explore how relevant it might be to my research, but I’m so curious to see where it may lead…

Wheel of Fundamental Human Needs (Max-Neef, 1986)

Max-Need wheel.htm

This matrix was included in the Wikipedia reference which discusses Max-Neef’s model of Universal Human Needs, which links needs with ‘satisfiers’. Again, this looks potentially really relevant to how OT’s think about maternal needs and quality of life during perinatal transitions. I can’t wait to spend more time learning about this!

Max-Need matrix

Author: Dr Hannah Slootjes (PhD)

I'm an occupational therapist, women's health researcher, academic, writer, mum, and passionate life learner. In 2022, I completed PhD exploring how OTs globally do, could or should work to promote health and maintain wellbeing for mothers during and after pregnancy, and matrescence. Titled, 'The Role of Occupational Therapists in Perinatal Health' my thesis introduced the Person-centered Occupational Model of Matrescence (POMM) to understand women's wellbeing from a human-centered approach, and the Functional Co-occupation Spectrum (FCS) for working with mother-infant dyads. I am currently teaching occupational therapy and public health students at La Trobe University, and writing a textbook about working with women during perinatal stages and matrescence based on my thesis (aiming for publication in 2024). I still love clinical practice, and work in women's health locally in Bendigo. After taking a year-long sabbatical to recover and re-energise after completing my PhD, I'm rolling up my sleeves and gearing up for the next life chapter! I'm still writing and teaching, and will be increasing practice-based supports for OTs from this website from May 2023. I am so looking forward to reconnecting with OTs practicing and researching in this space, and cannot wait to be part of the next phase of practice-based professional development!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.